Boost as AISA enlists expert advisory board

AISA has remained on the front foot to ensure it keeps excelling for members, appointing an executive advisory board who will inject their valuable insights, experience and expertise into AISA operations and direction.

The EAB met for the first time in Melbourne on Monday, June 3, where board directors and staff gave the industry luminaries an overview of AISA and shared its current strategy and activities, chairman Damien Manuel said.

“They provided a lot of input, feedback and suggestions,” Mr Manuel said.

He said directors of the Australian Information Security Association drew on their extensive networks to assemble the advisory board, which will help with strategy as well as engagement with government, industry, small-to-medium businesses and the general community.

“It provides a mechanism for unbiased input into AISA’s decision-making processes.”

For selection to the voluntary roles, EAB members had to be in good standing, a thought leader and respected among peers, Mr Manuel said. Vendors and consultants were ineligible.

It was envisaged the fully independent EAB would gather quarterly in person, and exchange questions and answers with AISA directors in-between.

At their next meeting the advisers would decide upon a chairperson, and they would determine whether that position was fixed or rotated as the EAB moves forward, Mr Manuel said.

The AISA Executive Advisory Board:


Wayne Bozza (NIB)

Eshan Dissanyake (Coles)

Julian Doak

Scott Handsaker (CyRise)

Jeff Jacobs

Shane Laffin

Kristin Lyons (Australia Post)

Dan Maslin

David Peano (Visy)

Jamie Rossato (Orica)

Wouter Veugelen (Healius Limited)

Cheuk Wong