Branch Executive

Professor Matt Warren

Professor Warren is currently the Director of the RMIT University Centre for Cyber Security Research and Innovation and a Professor of Cyber Security at RMIT University. He is a prolific and passionate researcher in the areas of Cyber Security and have authored and co-authored over 300 books, book chapters, journal papers and conference papers. As well as academic research he is experienced in working with government in advisory capacities and being an external cyber security consultant for numerous international and Australian organisations. Professor Warren has taught in Australia, Finland, Lithuania, Hong Kong and the United Kingdom.

Deputy Branch Chair

Jason Murrell

Jason has been a long-time supporter of start-up businesses here in Australia, especially in the cyber space. Currently working with Cyberhive and previous with 6clicks an AI driven cyber GRC platform, and prior to that with Cyber Aware, in the awareness training/phishing simulation arena. A champion of mentoring and connecting the cyber network in Australia, to collectively work to bring our cutting-edge solutions to the world. AISA has always been a central cog in developing a cohesive information security sector and he looks forward to working more closely with members to help advance cyber safety across the Australian public, as well as businesses, and governments in Australia. Jason successfully completed his Networking & Cyber Security certificate at the Box Hill Institute in 2020.

Committee Members

Holly Kong

Holly focuses on sourcing, strategy and architecture in government and financial services organisations. She is also passionate about cyber security and protecting organisations and systems via their strategy and architecture, to reduce and manage the risks they may face in this ever-changing world.

Holly has come from a customer-centric background and works as a conduit between business and technology views to minimise technology impacts and increase the user and customer experience. With familiarity across all facets of the software development life cycle, combined with a sound understanding of technology impacts on business operations, she employs creative problem-solving skills to identify and deliver solutions that are strategically focused.

Holly actively volunteers in the community, including mentoring and social support for vulnerable parts of our community.  Holly has completed a Grad. Cert in Cyber Security, Cisco Cyber Security Essentials.

Richard Magalad

Richard is a 30-year ICT veteran starting in mainframes with the Commonwealth Bank then onto most markets from SME to large clients in shipping, mining and other heavy industries. He became IT director in 2010 in a mining company with uranium, gold and diamond projects in Australia, Laos and Canada. He founded his IT support and consultancy company in 1999 and today work with two large Telcos and several Federal Government agencies, whilst still active in the SME space. He is a hands-on tech with a philosophy to never separate Cyber Security from Information Technology, just as he was trained in highly secure arena in banking and government. He was a board member at the Australian Computer Society until 2020. Richard studied Accounting and IT at Swinburne        University and recently Cyber Security at Box Hill Institute.